Swiss Approval Technische Bewertung S.A.


ISO 50001:2018 “Energy Management Systems (EnMS) – Requirements and guidelines for implementation” is the specific framework of specifications developed by the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) for the design and certification of energy management systems.

The ISO 50001:2018 standard specifies the requirements for the design, implementation and monitoring of an energy management system, the purpose of which is to enable the company/organisation to follow a systematic approach in order to achieve continuous improvement in energy performance, which consists of energy efficiency, energy security, improved energy use and improvement in the consumption of energy resources. The standard therefore aims to help organisations to achieve a steady reduction in energy consumption, and hence in their energy costs and emissions of greenhouse gases.

The international standard ISO 50001 was published by the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) in June 2011, and is adapted to the needs and characteristics of each organization, regardless of its size, sector of activity and geographical location.

The system was developed based on the ISO 9001 Quality Management System (QMS) and ISO 14001 Environmental Management System (EMS) standards, with the addition of important parameters such as “Energy Management System” improvement as well as “Energy Efficiency”. Typically, the improvement of quality and environmental performance of the company does not derive as a requirement from ISO 50001.

Organisations of all types and sizes are increasingly seeking to reduce their energy needs. This is driven, more often than not, by need or goal:

  • Cost reduction
  • Reducing the impact of increased operating costs
  • Achieving statutory or self-imposed targets set by the company in relation to carbon dioxide/carbon monoxide emission levels, etc.
  • reducing the use of fossil fuels, and
  • Enhancing the company’s reputation as a socially responsible and aware operator.

At the same time, governments are increasingly striving to reduce greenhouse gas emissions from both pollutants from the activities of citizens and from industries and production facilities, as well as enforcing legislation for mandatory reductions in carbon dioxide emissions.

ISO 50001, further enhanced the implementation of existing national and regional energy management regulations and standards, including those developed in China, Denmark, Ireland, Ireland, Japan, Republic of Korea, the Netherlands, Sweden, Thailand, the United States, the Netherlands, Sweden, Thailand, the United States and the European Union.

Seven key components constitute the ISO 50001 standard:

  • General Requirements
  • Management Responsibility
  • Energy Policy
  • Energy Management Action Plan
  • Implementation and Operation
  • Carrying out inspections
  • Management Review

Swiss Approval guarantees the provision of accredited certification services, through which the company is awarded the certificate – “passport” for the international market, ensuring with accuracy and independence the compliance with the principles and rules governing the international standard ISO 50001. ISO 50001 – Energy Management Systems